Florida has some of the most lenient telemarketing laws in the country. While this may make it a great place to conduct business, it also poses problems for consumers who are not aware of these laws. This lack of awareness can lead to lawsuits and massive settlements that have ruined many people’s lives.
The ogx lawsuit how to apply is a question that is asked by many people. This article will explain how you can qualify for the ogx lawsuit.
Normand PLLC is an attorney advertising firm. Edmund Normand is a Florida licensed attorney. Orlando, FL is the location of our office.
Who is Affected by Illegal Telemarketing in Florida?
- Florida just enacted its own version of the federal Telephone Consumer Protection Act, which will provide Floridians who have had their rights infringed greater safeguards.
- If you live in Florida and received one or more calls that violate the state’s new telemarketing regulations, you may be eligible to financial compensation.
- To check whether you qualify, fill out the form on this page.
This new statute, which was signed into law on July 1, 2021, amends the Florida Telemarketing Act and the Florida Do Not Call Act, giving consumers more protection.
The new Florida robocall law enables customers to sue for monetary damages, restricts the number of times a telemarketer may contact a consumer in a 24-hour period, and limits the hours during which telemarketers can call consumers.
This new Florida telemarketing legislation gives customers far more protection against irritating robocalls and obnoxious telemarketers.
Consumers who receive illegal calls, text messages, or voicemails may be eligible to compensation ranging from $500 to $1,500 each infringement.
Do You Meet the Requirements?
You may be eligible to compensation if you received one or more calls that violate the new Florida telemarketing laws.
If you’ve received any of the following, your rights may have been violated:
- Messages that have been pre-recorded
- Without signed permission, a marketing phone call, text message, or voicemail is made.
- Before 8 a.m. and after 8 p.m., marketing calls, messages, or voicemails are prohibited.
- Within a 24-hour period, you have received more than three calls or texts.
For further information, please complete the form on this page.
What Does Florida’s New Robocall Law Entail?
The Florida Telephone Consumer Protection Act (TCPA) contains significant changes to the Florida Do Not Call Act. Consumers may seek an injunction and monetary penalties of at least $500 per infringement. In instances of deliberate and knowing breaches, the law allows a judge to raise the judgment to $1,500.
Telemarketers that utilize an autodialer or recorded messages will be required to acquire prior explicit written permission from consumers under the new Florida robocall legislation. “An automated system for the selection or dialing of telephone numbers or the playback of a recorded message,” according to Florida telemarketing regulations.
Because this term is wider than the federal TCPA definition of autodialer, some telemarketers with federally compliant dialing systems may be in violation of the new Florida robocall legislation.
Furthermore, the new robocall law amends the Florida Telemarketing Act to limit telemarketers’ ability to contact customers between the hours of 8 a.m. and 8 p.m. local time. Telemarketers were formerly permitted to call until 9 p.m. under the FTA.
Telemarketers are also not allowed to contact a customer more than three times in a 24-hour period about the same issue, and they are not allowed to use spoofing technology to hide their identity.
Is it necessary for my phone number to be on the Florida Do Not Call Registry in order to qualify?
To be eligible for compensation under the new telemarketing legislation, your phone number does not need to be on Florida’s Do Not Call register. Telemarketers who break the new regulations face a fine of $500 per infraction or $1,500 for willful violations.
Even calls from businesses with whom customers have a long-standing commercial connection are subject to the new limitations.
Before utilizing automated technologies or prepared communications to contact customers, businesses must get their explicit written permission.
The business may be fined if they break the Florida telemarketing laws. They may also be barred from conducting telemarketing calls in the state, in addition to monetary penalties.
Join a Free TCPA Class Action Lawsuit Investigation in Florida.
You may be eligible for a free lawsuit claim review if you reside in Florida and received a phone call, text message, or voicemail that violated the Florida Telemarketing Act or the Florida Do Not Call Act.
To take action, fill out the form on this page.
The makeup class action lawsuit is a telemarketing law suit that was filed in Florida. It covers the specific laws and regulations for Florida.
Frequently Asked Questions
Can I sue for Do Not call violations?
No, you cannot sue for Do Not call violations.
What is the fine per call in violation of Floridas telemarketing act?
The fine for violating the Floridas telemarketing act is $500.
Who regulates Florida telemarketing law?
The Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services.
- how to join a class action lawsuit
- robocall lawsuit 2020
- telephone consumer protection act class action
- do not call list class action lawsuit
- top class action lawsuit 2019